Albuquerque Aerostat Ascension Association

Sid Cutter Award

Sid Cutter Award

First awarded in 1975, this Award is a trophy presented annually in Sid Cutter's name by the AAAA to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of hot air ballooning. The nominee should be an individual whose extraordinary dedication has benefited the hot air ballooning community as a whole, not just AAAA, and is someone whose actions and efforts are not otherwise widely or publicly recognized. Recipients of the Sid Cutter Award are automatically awarded an honorary membership in AAAA. The award is presented during the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta awards banquet, the first week of October.

Written nominations must be submitted to the AAAA Board of Directors prior to the last day of August. Send nominations to:

AAAA Board of Directors
P.O. Box 4091
Albuquerque, NM 87196

Past Award Recipients

1975 Bob Ruppenthal
1976 Deke Sonnichsen
1977 Bill Murtoff
1978 Pat Barz
1979 Dick Brown
1980 Karl Stefan
1981 Clair Bennett
1982 John Davis
1983 --No Award--
1984 Bert Dohle
1985 Tom Hamilton
1986 Jewell Cutter
1987 Tom McConnell
1988 Ellie Mason
1989 --No Award--
1990 George Hahn
1991 J.W. Byrd
1992 Kim Vesley
1993 Terry Wright
1994 Troy Bradley
1995 Sam Baxter
1996 Edward Yost
1997 Neida Courtney
1998 Tina Reeves
1999 Bruce Hale
2000 Mark Sullivan
2001 Evelyn Bryd & Ann Dickey
2002 Tom Schroeder
2003 Ray Bair
2004 Norm Courtney
2005 Kay Sant
2006 Barbara Fricke
2007 JD Huss
2008 Richard Abruzzo
2009 Paul Smith
2010 Arthur Swenka
2011 Beth Wright Smith
2012 David Tennis
2013 Carol Bair
2014 Richard W Rice
2015 Frank Mezzencello
2016 Peter Cuneo
2017 Ken Tuley aka "Art Lloyd Jr."
2018 No award
2019 Sam Parks