Albuquerque Aerostat Ascension Association

Bob Ruppenthal Education Award

Bob Ruppenthal Education Award

First awarded in 1981, this award is made to an AAAA member who has contributed significantly to the education of others in the area of balloon safety and operation. This person must have contributed significantly in time and effort and must have participated actively in the organization and/or instruction of ground schools and safety seminars for AAAA and the ballooning community at large.

Written nominations must be submitted to the AAAA Board of Directors prior to the last day of February. Send nominations to:

AAAA Board of Directors
P.O. Box 4091
Albuquerque, NM 87196

Past Award Recipients

1981 Bob Ruppenthal
1982 Charlotte Kinney
1983 Albuquerque FSDO
1984 Fran Tschida
1985 Bill Bird
1986 Anna Nalley
1987 -No Award-
1988 Dick Butterfield
1989 George Hahn
1990 Ray Bair
1991 Dorothy Gruber
1992 Joel Johnstone
1993 Glenda Watson
1994 Barbara Fricke
1995 Ron Domres
1996 Karen Glinski
1997 Phil Nelson
1998 Peggy Malone
1999 Kay Adams & Jerry Smith
2000 Don Bragg
2001 -No Award-
2002 Clarke O'Byrne
2003 -No Award-
2004 Debbie Fowler
2005 Ray Bair
2006 David Tennis
2007 Gary & Debbie Jantz
2008 AIBF Directors & Staff
2009 Clare Wade Callihan
2010 -No Award-
2011 Beth Wright Smith
2012 Linda Bonney
2013 Tom Goettsche
2014 Don Boyer
2015 J.D. Huss
2016 Tom Fisher
2017 Dale Pattyn
2018 Loretta Zamora