Albuquerque Aerostat Ascension Association

Allan Jones Volunteer Award

Allan Jones Volunteer Award

This award, formerly known as the AAAA Volunteer of the Year Award, was first awarded in 1991. The award was renamed in honor of respected AAAA member and volunteer Allan Jones who died in a powerline accident during the 1993 Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta. This award is presented to an AAAA member who has contributed significantly in time and effort to the operation of the club and/or to ballooning in the community. In addition, the recipient must have participated actively on at least one standing committee or had significantly contributed to the bettering of relations between the ballooning community and the public at large.

The solicitation for this award is not published. Members of the Board of Directors are solicited at the January and February meetings for nominations. Candidates may also be chosen from the nominees for the Bob Ruppenthal Award

Past Award Recipients

1991 Tommy Thompson
1992 Neta Bell
1993 Karen Glinski
1994 Carol Bair
1995 Ed & Roberta Kubisak
1996 Neta Bell
1997 Mary & Charlie Bejcek
1998 Mary Lou Wilson
1999 Robbin Busick
2000 Ray Bair
2001 Carolyn Grantham & Jonathan Abdalla
2002 Kay Sant
2003 Jim McKinney & Shelly Foxworthy
2004 Kevin Cloney & Barbara Fricke
2005 Al Lowenstein
2006 Jim Martin & Warren King
2007 Rolinda Tzamaloukas
2008 Lichele Peete
2009 Jennifer Greenwood
2010 -No Award-
2011 Carol Bair
2012 Sam Bradshaw
2013 Michelle Lutz
2014 Kat Pattyn
2015 Diana Gilson
2016 -No Award-