Albuquerque Aerostat Ascension Association

Friends and Lovers

Friends and Lovers Balloon Rally

The Friends and Lovers Balloon Rally happens near Valentines' Day each February and has been a fun rally since 1975.

Originally called the Albuquerque Cloudbouncer Balloon Rally, it was started as a way to spark interest in the 1975 World Hot Air Balloon Championships and the 4th Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta which was moved from February to October that year. According to the January 1975 Cloudbouncer, a hare and hound and possible flight over the Sandia's were planned. Also on the agenda was an "all in fun special social" was planned for Saturday night.

BTW, the first day of the rally featured a hare and hound event from the State Fairgrounds. And did we mentioned it SNOWED? Sunday apparently brought great weather for flying.

Read more about it in the January and February-March 1975 Cloudbouncers. And come back to this page as we get closer to February 2022 for all the details on this always fun event.

Friends and Lovers Balloonmeistern

Note, 1975 was called the Cloudbouncer Balloon Rally and was designed to bridge the gap created when Balloon Fiesta moved from a February event to an October event.
Note we are missing a few. Let us know who was Balloonmeistern those years.
1975Sid Cutter2001Melissa Bond
1976Greg Wilson K & Diane Terry2002Carolyn Grantham
1977Craig Landon & Tim Thorsen2003Jacque Jacobs
1978John Lynch2004Jeanne Schroeder
1979Marge Ruppenthal2005Jennifer Greenwood
1980Charlotte Kinney McMahon2006Rolina "Sam" Tzamaloukas
1981Neida "Mom" Courtney2007Barbara Fricke
1982Sheri Bachelle Moore2008Susan Collins
1983Gay Jensen2009Faye Godfrey
1984Mary Beck2010???
1985Doni Bird2011Cookie See
1986Kathy Myrick2012???
1987Glenda Watson2013???
1988Sheri Bachelle Moore2014MaeBell Pendelton
1989Pat Brake2015Carol Bair
1990Carol Bair2016Janie Jordan
1991Michelle Siebert2017Barbara Fricke
1992Terry May2018Jennifer Garcia
1993Anna Nalley2019Elisa Bustamante & Pat Mezzancello
1994Cheryl Goettsche2020Lynda Crispino
1995Martha Keyser2021None-Non Event Flying only due to COVID
1996Jeanne Tolman2022TBA
1997Carla Devaney
1998Stephanie Johnstone
1999Jamie Gardner
2000Ann Piper